Tags

,

When I first saw the mod podge painted glass on Pinterest, I knew I wanted to try it.

image

Source: By Stephanie Lynn (which is gone – sad) via Pinterest, repinned from Nikole

I knew I wanted to add beads to my painted glass. I found this on Pinterest as well, but it wasn’t quite what I had in mind.

image

Source: CountryLiving.com via Pinterest, repinned from Erin

I kept looking and mulling over what I wanted and while I couldn’t find an example, I knew I what I wanted. I bought some beads, but after looking at the beads next to the glass piece I picked, I went back for bigger beads. This was a gift for my sister, so I picked brown to paint the glass to match her décor. I didn’t take any before or during photos, just a few crappy photos with my phone. But here is the final product:

IMAG0215_2

To make, I mixed the mod podge with food coloring. Since I picked a large glass piece, I mixed a lot of mod podge (about 1 cup) and food coloring because I didn’t want to run out. In actually I probably only used a couple of tablespoons. To make brown, I mixed blue, yellow and red. Because I used so much modge podge, I used a lot of food coloring. I practiced on several old marinara jars and found I like the results when using the sponge brush and brushed two coats. I strung the beads on a 24 guage wire, wrapped it around the vase and used a few spots of hot glue to secure it in place. And here she rests on my sister’s mantle:

IMAG0221

Let me know if you have any specific questions on the project and I’ll gladly answer them.

