Tags

,

UPDATED NOTE 3/27/2012: Everyday Mineral Brushes are 40% off this week (or until supplies last)!! I’m on my way to complete my brush collection right now. 🙂

P3209068

 

I cleaned my makeup brushes this week. I would be lying if I said I did this often. All information I have read indicates you should clean makeup weekly. I’m more of a every six month kind of gal. Gross, I know. Anyway, I received a new brush this week and I always clean those before I start using them. So I decided to clean them all and let them dry in the sun since it is so nice out (its been record high in the 80s here in Michigan).

When I get a new brush, I always wash it with shampoo, rinse, condition, then rinse again. I read somewhere that conditioning them keeps the hairs in the brush longer. I did a bit of research online on how to clean them. The most common method recommended cleaning them with shampoo, preferably baby shampoo since it is the gentlest.

One online video I watched recommended rubbing olive oil on the hairs before washing them with shampoo. I thought I would give this a try. You rub them in a bit of oil, then swirl them on a papertowel. It really removed a lot of the makeup before I washed them. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND FOR LARGER BRUSHES. It worked well with my small eye brushes, but my larger brushes still feel oily. YUCK! I’ve shampooed them several times and I can’t quite get all the oil out of the hairs. One tip I learned, which makes absolute sense, is to rinse the brushes with the hairs pointing down so the water does not go up into the shaft (and later rust).

My brushes are all from Everyday Minerals. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE these brushes. They are super duper soft made from synthetic hair. They are 100% cruelty free. All their products are vegan, organic, eco-friendly and the company practices sustainability. I also am a huge fan of their eye shadows and mineral face powder.

My brushes (from left to right): Kabuki Junior, Flat Top Brush, Long Handled Kabuki, Angled Brow and Liner Brush, Dome Blending Eye Brush, Everyday Eye Smudge Brush, 2 Everyday Eye Shadow Brush (brand new and old), Oval Concealer Brush, and Eye Blending Brush.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If I could only live with two, they would be the Angled Brow and Liner Brush and the Everyday Eye Shadow Brush. On my wish list are the Tapered Sculpting Face Brush and the Angled Kabuki Brush.

I recommend cleaning your makeup brushes and checking out Everyday Minerals! (I have no affiliation with EDM, just love their products).

Do you have a favorite makeup brush?

